Who We Are

With more than 50,000 students, faculty and staff, Florida State University (FSU) houses an abundance of critical and sensitive information. The safeguarding of this data and the technical infrastructure behind it is vital to the continued viability and success of the university.

The Information Security and Privacy Office (ISPO), which operates as a division of Information Technology Services and reports to the Chief Information Officer and Provost, is dedicated to its mission to ensure the confidentiality, integrity and availability of FSU data and to protect the privacy of the information entrusted to our university. Our team does this by focusing on the following key areas:

This website serves as a central resource for guidance on a wide range of privacy issues affecting the campus community. Here you will find an overview of the services our office provides to campus and important university information security and privacy policies. You will also find information on how to protect yourself and the university from cyberthreats, as well as an extensive library of important information security and privacy resources.

What We Do

The Information Security and Privacy Office provides several services to the university, including:

  • Security and privacy consulting, including policy development, incidence response, PCI DSS, HIPAA and FERPA
  • Website privacy assessment using Rational Policy Tester (RPT)
  • Automated vulnerability scanning
  • Enterprise Intrusion Prevention System (IPS)
  • 24/7/365 network security monitoring by Multi State Information Sharing and Analysis Center (MSISAC)
  • Computer forensic investigation at direction of FSU PD, IG or HR
  • Security listserv for information sharing

Contact Information

Bill Hunkapiller Director bill.hunkapiller@fsu.edu 850-645-0676
Brian Rue Associate Director brue@fsu.edu 850-645-8056
Jack May Associate Director jmay5@fsu.edu 850-645-2950
Joe Thomas Assistant Director joe.thomas@fsu.edu 850-645-8055
John Chap Security Analyst jchap@fsu.edu 850-645-8053
Gene Hallmark Security Analyst gene.hallmark@fsu.edu 850-645-8052
Philip Kraemer Security Training Coordinator pkraemer@fsu.edu 850-645-3600
Mike Boll Research Data Security Specialist mboll@fsu.edu 850-645-3602
Daniel Leggett Risk Manager daniel.leggett@fsu.edu 850-644-7012

Joe Brigham

Program Director joseph.brigham@fsu.edu 850-645-3601
Chris Kroll Business Analyst ckroll@fsu.edu 850-645-8051

You are welcome to contact us at security@fsu.edu with questions or comments on information security or privacy at Florida State University.

title-inside title-centered
2