Who We Are

With more than 50,000 students, faculty and staff, Florida State University (FSU) houses an abundance of critical and sensitive information. The safeguarding of this data and the technical infrastructure behind it is vital to the continued viability and success of the university.

The Information Security and Privacy Office (ISPO), which operates as a division of Information Technology Services and reports to the Chief Information Officer and Provost, is dedicated to its mission to ensure the confidentiality, integrity and availability of FSU data and to protect the privacy of the information entrusted to our university. Our team does this by focusing on the following key areas:

This website serves as a central resource for guidance on a wide range of privacy issues affecting the campus community. Here you will find an overview of the services our office provides to campus and important university information security and privacy policies. You will also find information on how to protect yourself and the university from cyberthreats, as well as an extensive library of important information security and privacy resources.

What We Do

The Information Security and Privacy Office provides several services to the university, including:

  • Security and privacy consulting, including policy development, incidence response, PCI DSS, HIPAA and FERPA
  • Website privacy assessment using Rational Policy Tester (RPT)
  • Automated vulnerability scanning
  • Enterprise Intrusion Prevention System (IPS)
  • 24/7/365 network security monitoring by Multi State Information Sharing and Analysis Center (MSISAC)
  • Computer forensic investigation at direction of FSU PD, IG or HR
  • Security listserv for information sharing

Contact Information

Bill Hunkapiller
Chief Information Security Officer
bill.hunkapiller@fsu.edu
850-645-0676

Mark Chang
Director Risk, Compliance and Privacy
mark.chang@fsu.edu
850-644-0279

Clifford Stokes Jr.
Director of Information Security
clifford.stokes@fsu.edu
850-645-8056

Tom Doughty
Program Director Enterprise Security Architecture
tdoughty@fsu.edu
850-645-8051

Joe Brigham
Program Director Technology Services
joseph.brigham@fsu.edu
850-645-3601

Joe Thomas
Program Director Incidents & Investigations
joe.thomas@fsu.edu
850-645-8055

Jack May
IT Project Manager
jmay5@fsu.edu
850-645-2950

John Chap
Security Analyst
jchap@fsu.edu
850-645-8053

Katrina Haseman
Security Analyst
katrina.haseman@fsu.edu
No phone number available at this time

Philip Kraemer
Security Training Coordinator
philip.kraemer@fsu.edu
850-645-3600

Daniel Leggett
Program Director, Research Compliance
daniel.leggett@fsu.edu
850-644-7012

Keith Bennett
IT Security/Privacy Risk Manager
keith.bennett@fsu.edu
No phone number available at this time

Jeremy Anderson
IT Security/Privacy Risk Manager
jjanderson@fsu.edu
No phone number available at this time

Yamila Posey
Security Analyst
yposey@fsu.edu
850-645-6810

Vicki Bradford
Project Manager
vbradford@fsu.edu
850-644-6337

You are welcome to contact us at security@fsu.edu with questions or comments on information security or privacy at Florida State University.

title-inside title-centered
2