Who We Are

With more than 50,000 students, faculty and staff, Florida State University (FSU) houses an abundance of critical and sensitive information. The safeguarding of this data and the technical infrastructure behind it is vital to the continued viability and success of the university.

The Information Security and Privacy Office (ISPO), which operates as a division of Information Technology Services and reports to the Chief Information Officer and Provost, is dedicated to its mission to ensure the confidentiality, integrity and availability of FSU data and to protect the privacy of the information entrusted to our university. Our team does this by focusing on the following key areas:

This website serves as a central resource for guidance on a wide range of privacy issues affecting the campus community. Here you will find an overview of the services our office provides to campus and important university information security and privacy policies. You will also find information on how to protect yourself and the university from cyberthreats, as well as an extensive library of important information security and privacy resources.

What We Do

The Information Security and Privacy Office provides several services to the university, including:

  • Security and privacy consulting, including policy development, incidence response, PCI DSS, HIPAA and FERPA
  • Website privacy assessment using Rational Policy Tester (RPT)
  • Automated vulnerability scanning
  • Enterprise Intrusion Prevention System (IPS)
  • 24/7/365 network security monitoring by Multi State Information Sharing and Analysis Center (MSISAC)
  • Computer forensic investigation at direction of FSU PD, IG or HR
  • Security listserv for information sharing

Contact Information

Bill Hunkapiller
Director
bill.hunkapiller@fsu.edu
850-645-0676

Brian Rue
Associate Director
brue@fsu.edu
850-645-8056

Jack May
Associate Director
jmay5@fsu.edu
850-645-2950

Joe Thomas
Assistant Director
joe.thomas@fsu.edu
850-645-8055

John Chap
Security Analyst
jchap@fsu.edu
850-645-8053

Gene Hallmark
Security Analyst
gene.hallmark@fsu.edu
850-645-8052

Philip Kraemer
Security Training Coordinator
pkraemer@fsu.edu
850-645-3600

Mike Boll
Research Data Security Specialist
mboll@fsu.edu
850-645-3602

Daniel Leggett
Risk Manager
daniel.leggett@fsu.edu
850-644-7012

Joe Brigham
Program Director
joseph.brigham@fsu.edu
850-645-3601

Chris Kroll
Business Analyst
ckroll@fsu.edu
850-645-8051

You are welcome to contact us at security@fsu.edu with questions or comments on information security or privacy at Florida State University.

title-inside title-centered
2