‘DUO’ notice something new?
We are doing some spring cleaning this spring break and refreshing your Duo prompt screen. On March 16, your Duo-verified push prompt screen got a new look. This is the screen that allows you to send a push to your device to confirm the login. Nothing about the sign in process will be changing with this new look.
With the new look, you will also see an update to the ‘remember me’ ability. Starting this summer you will only be able to stay Duo verified for 7 days rather than the current 30. This change is to help increase security among all devices. You should only use the remember me ability on devices you own that no one else has access to.
We also want to use this upgrade as a chance to remind users of the importance of only accepting a push they request. Often users will receive a notification asking if they are trying to log in and will accept it without thinking if it is really them. This compromises the safety of the account and gives hackers access.
Remember that you will only receive a push notification when you request one from the prompt screen. If you receive a push, you did not ask for don’t accept the push! Getting a push you did not request can be a sign that someone is trying to hack your account. 2-factor authentication is here to help keep your account safe so take extra precautions when being asked to verify it is you.